Dubious Medicine – Part 4

Man, if Power Girl can’t get good emergency medical care, what hope do the rest of us have?

Weight, chest...does anyone else want to an inappropriate comment about any part of her anatomy?

Does anyone else want to add an inappropriate comment?

This addition of insult to injury courtesy of Power Girl #5 (November 2009) by Jimmy Palmiotti, Justin Gray, and Amanda Connor.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Dubious Medicine – Part 4”

  1. Duke Neurorads Doc Says:

    “Man, if Power Girl can’t get good emergency medical care, what hope do the rest of us have?”

    This is what radiology deals with from the ER:

    So yes, we are doomed.

  2. Lunar Archivist Says:

    Oh man, that’s just depressing. 😦

    Reminds me of the Lakeshore General Hospital near my place. I went in there in severe pain from a kidney stone and they left me rotting in their emergency waiting room for eight or nine hours before I got fed up and went back home. o_O

  3. awritershailmarypass Says:

    I feel so bad for Power Girl. She’s on nearly par with Superman power-wise and instead of being a real character, she’s nothing more than eye candy and the butt of boob jokes. Seriously, she can lift buildings and punch planets and all anyone can comment on is her bust? How about being seriously worried someone/something was powerful enough to beat up one of Superman’s distaff counterparts?!

    I think if I came up against a Kryptonian (even the dog!), and I was a good guy, my thought would be, “Yay! We’re going to win!” and if I was a villain my thought would be, “Please don’t pop my head like a grape.” Boobs would really not be something I’d be too concerned about either way.

  4. Lunar Archivist Says:

    Power Girl might get a lot of flak about her boobs, but in the pre-Flashpoint DC Universe, she started her own software company (proving that she’s got brains in equal measure). While she might not be a tech genius, she was saavy enough as a businesswoman to know who to hire and what sells.

    It also depends on who’s writing her. I have issues with some Geoff Johns’ questionable choices in that direction (specifically concerning the origin of her “boob window”), but Jimmy Palmiotti, Justin Gray, and Amanda Conner’s run on her title – and, surprisingly, Judd Winick’s as well – were quite good.

    I haven’t followed the New 52 version at all since quitting DC, but, while I trust Paul Levitz to do right by her, some of the creative decisions made by the idiots in charge and the unfortunate subtext make me cringe…like how Huntress and Power Girl essentially made lives for themselves by stealing cash from Bruce Wayne five years ago and part of the latter’s motive for being in a relationship/sleeping with Mr. Terrific may or may not have been to gain access to his technology for the benefit of her company.

Leave a Reply

