The Lunar Archivist’s Sketchbook – Part 6

Today’s page from my sketchbook comes with a story.

While attending Montreal Comiccon 2012 two weeks ago, I had the opportunity to not only meet the legendary George Pérez, but also to have him sketch something for me. (Not for free, of course, but for a pretty reasonable amount given a comic book artist of his stature.) But who to choose, with both the DC and Marvel Universes at my fingertips? Well, given my rather vocal objection on this blog to Scott Lobdell‘s interpretation of a certain alien princess combined with the fact that the character was co-created by Marv Wolfman and Mr. Pérez himself, my decision turned out to be a no-brainer.

Me: “I’d like a sketch of Starfire, because I don’t like what they’ve done with her in the New 52.”

To which he responded:

George Pérez: “I don’t, either.”

I think my little raging fanboy heart skipped a beat when he said that.

This led to a brief exchange between the two of us which pretty much confirmed what all of Starfire’s fans already knew. Mr. Pérez didn’t, for a single moment, deny that she was eye candy. But her sexiness was never sleazy. What made her so endearing was that she was naïve and oblivious to the effect she had on men; she was “a wide-eyed innocent”, to use his exact words, and it’s in that form that he chose to immortalize her for me in my sketchbook:


So, here’s the tl;dr version:

1. Fan vindication by a character’s creator on creative mismanagement can be sweet enough to induce a diabetic coma.

2. Suck on that, Lobdell.

UPDATE (2013.05.27.): Despite the relative obscurity of this website in the blogosphere as a whole, I pride myself on having some sense of journalistic integrity. So when a deviantART Internet troll questioned the reliability of my claim that Mr. Pérez had ever referred to Starfire as a “wide-eyed innocent” in this comment thread, I decided to go straight to the source and ask the big man himself via his Facebook fan page, which he himself runs. Even though I thought it was a long shot, George Pérez surprised me by answering less than three hours later and confirmed my original statement. And here’s my proof:

Suck on THIS, Matthew Lane. :P

Suck on THIS, Matthew Lane. 😛

That is all. 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

