Tales From the Convention Floor – Part 2: Christopher Lloyd

During the Fan Expo Canada 2012 convention in Toronto, Ontario last week, I was presented with an opportunity that I never imagined would come my way: the chance to meet the incomparable Christopher Lloyd, who had major roles in two of my all-time favorite movies, Back to the Future and Who Framed Roger Rabbit.

While he’s built his career on playing energetic, intense, and eccentric characters, Mr. Lloyd proved to be pretty low-key and calm in person, was very friendly and sociable, and gave off a distinctly soothing, grandfatherly vibe. When I mentioned that I’d heard he rarely makes public appearances – something his entry on Wikipedia makes a point of mentioning – he responded with a simple “I do make a few of them.”, all while maintaining the subtle-but-perpetual warm smile he seemed to have reserved for everyone in attendance.

Two additional things worth mentioning about Christopher Lloyd: first, he has one of the most legible celebrity signatures that I’ve encountered in the 14 or so years I’ve been actively collecting them. (And the guy’s almost 74 years old!)

I’m hoping to get Michael J. Fox to sign the other half someday.

Second, he has the uncanny ability to make pictures that even I appear in look incredibly awesome. (The DeLorean time machine is just icing on the cake.)

There definitely isn’t enough room to get up to 88 in the convention hallway.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

